Percussionist Ji Su Jung of The Percussion Collective

Orpheus in the Underworld

A Greek classic meets the cancan in Jacques Offenbach’s sassy Overture to Orpheus in the Underworld. Also, Carlos Kalmar conducts the Grant Park Orchestra and the dynamic Percussion Collective in a captivating new work by eclectic American composer Christopher Theofanidis. And, the Orchestra rediscovers a symphonic rarity by one of Johannes Brahms’ favorite composers: Robert Fuchs.

Where & When

Jay Pritzker Pavilion
Concert: Wednesday, June 24, 2020, 6:30pm – 8:00pm 


Grant Park Orchestra

Carlos Kalmar, Conductor

The Percussion Collective (Ji Su Jung, Matthew Keown, Svet Stoyanov, Sam Seyong Um)


Jacques Offenbach: Overture to Orpheus in the Underworld

Christopher Theofanidis: Drum Circles

Robert Fuchs: Symphony No. 2

Learn about free seating options >

The City of Chicago has implemented a security perimeter and bag check policy for all concerts at the Jay Pritzker Pavilion. Changes have also been made to venue opening times and the prohibited items list.