Pianist Simon Trpceski

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 4

Head indoors to the Harris Theater for an intimate concert featuring the Orchestra with piano sensation Simon Trpčeski, who makes his Festival debut with a concerto by one of the greatest pianists—ever—Sergei Rachmaninov. An athletic showpiece, Rachmaninov’s Fourth Piano Concerto pays tribute to the composer’s adopted homeland, blending American jazz with Russian folksong, Orthodox chant, and tonal modernism. Also on the program, Jean Sibelius fronts an explosive torrent of energy in his sweeping Symphony No. 5. Carlos Kalmar conducts the Grant Park Orchestra.


Grant Park Orchestra

Carlos Kalmar, Conductor

Simon Trpčeski, Piano 


Elena Kats-Chernin: Mythic 

Sergei Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 4 

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 5

FOR Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No. 4
This concert is general admission at the Harris Theater, and is included in all membership packages. Members and One Night Pass holders are guaranteed a general admission seat in a premium orchestra floor location. To access the Members Only Seating area, please present your 2020 Membership Card upon entry into the theater.

Free seating is available in the balconies and the rear of the Orchestra Level on a first-come, first-seated basis. Passes are NOT available for the free seats in advance, but they will be distributed at the door upon entrance into the theater to help manage inventory.  

The theater opens 90 minutes before the concert and seating opens 30 minutes before the performance begins. All late seating will be accommodated in the balcony at management discretion.

Learn about more free seating options >